Florida’s minimum wage has increased slowly… until now. On September 30, 2021, Florida workers and businesses will see the largest minimum wage increase in history. Florida’s minimum wage will go from $8.65 per hour for non-tipped employees ($17,992 per year) to $10.00 per hour for the same non-tipped employees ($20,800 per year). The hourly wage for tipped employees will go up from $5.63 per hour to $6.98 per hour.
This increase of $1.35 per hour is the single largest increase in Florida’s minimum wage. On November 2, 2004, Floridians voted to amend the Florida Constitution by including a Minimum Wage Amendment, found at Article X, Section 24 of the Florida Constitution. The Minimum Wage Amendment was further put into effect at Section 448.110, Florida Statutes, which created a minimum wage of $5.15 per hour for non-tipped employees, and that initial minimum wage took effect on May 2, 2005. The creation of the Florida Minimum Wage Act resulted in a $1.00 increase of the minimum wage then in effect.
Florida’s minimum wage is now set to increase by $1.00 on September 30 of every year for the next five (5) years until 2026, when Florida’s minimum wage will eventually reach $15.00 per hour for non-tipped employees.
FairLaw Firm is familiar with both the federal and Florida minimum wage laws. At FairLaw Firm, we have the privilege of representing employees who have not been paid properly, of counseling employers about ways to avoid costly wage litigation, and of defending employers seeking unparalleled legal representation in wage litigation.
FairLaw Firm offers in-person and videoconference consultations from its office in Coral Gables, Florida. Have a question? Then click here to contact FairLaw Firm now.